Local MP congratulates BOP Young Grower of the year

Press releases
Thursday, June 23, 2016

Todd Muller MP for the Bay of Plenty attended the Bay of Plenty Grower of the Year awards at Mills Reef winery and was blown away by the talent found in our local industry.

"These awards ensure that there is a solid foundation of leaders coming into the horticultural industry and by the candidates that I have seen tonight I am confident that our industry is in good hands," said Mr Muller.

"I would like to personally congratulate Chris Clement for the hard work that he has put in to achieve this award. I also offer my congratulations to Aaron Hokopaura and Erin Atkinson were awarded second and third place respectively.

"This event speaks volumes to the young talent in our local horticultural industry and I am extremely heartened to see the fantastic candidates every year.

"The industry needs highly skilled, innovative growers ready to face industry challenges and strengthen New Zealand's leading position in the global market place and the region outdoes itself in supporting young growers to achieve this.

"The future success of this industry relies on ensuring that our future leaders are passionate and skilled and our community in particular has a huge stake in this.

"Candidates from the regional Young Grower of the Year awards go on to compete in the national competition and I wish Chris all the very best in competing for the nationwide award," said Mr Muller.


Media contact: Shannon Stewart (04) 817 9431